You are here:HomeNews CenterInsurance News2012Law Would Allow Drivers to Pay Fees to Avoid Points

Law Would Allow Drivers to Pay Fees to Avoid Points

New Jersey motorists could soon pay higher fees instead of getting points on driver’s licenses under a bill that has advanced through the state’s Senate Transportation Committee
October 18, 2012

New Jersey motorists could soon pay higher fees instead of getting points on driver’s licenses under a bill that has advanced through the state’s Senate Transportation Committee.

Sen. Christopher Bateman sponsored the bill, which would amend the state’s driving statute to allow points forgiveness up to two times in five years. The bill would allow motorists a chance to pay enhanced fees to avoid points, which can cause auto insurance rates to rise. The bill also would increase from $250 to $500 the minimum fine for motorists with three unsafe driving offenses. Bateman first introduced the proposal in 2008, and the Senate unanimously passed the measure in May 2009. Last year, the bill died by Assembly inaction.

Filed under: